Park Overview
Address: 8239 Champoeg Rd NE, Saint Paul, OR 97137
Reservation: https://oregonstateparks.reserveamerica.com/camping/champoeg-state-heritage-area/r/campgroundDetails.do?contractCode=OR&parkId=405213
Champoeg State Heritage Area features a rare combination of history, nature, and recreation. Situated south of Newberg along the scenic Willamette River, Champoeg’s forests, fields, and wetlands recreate the landscape of a bygone era.
This is the site where pioneers voted to form Oregon’s first provisional government by a historical vote in 1843. A thriving town of 200 was established, only to be washed away during a great flood in 1861. This rich history earns the park’s placement on the National Register of Historic Places.
A diversity of activities await. Enjoy walking or biking on the paved trails that pass historical landmarks and hug the river. Play the 18-hole disc golf course under the oak trees, relax at the multitude of scenic picnic areas, or fish or kayak from dock on the Willamette River.
The ecologically rich landscape is home to more than 130 bird species, including seasonally nesting western bluebirds and acorn woodpeckers.
Year-round Camping
B Loop and cabins are open year-round. A Loop and yurts close seasonally. Book reservations up to 6 months in advance. Reservations are required for yurts and cabins.
- 21 Full-hookup sites
- 54 Electric sites with water
- 6 tent sites, with parking area nearby
- 6 yurts (3 pet-friendly; see the Pets in Parks FAQ for more info)
- 6 cabins (3 pet-friendly; see the Pets in Parks FAQ for more info)
- Hiker/biker camp
- Flush toilets and hot showers (showers for campers only)
- Firewood and ice for sale
- Dump Station
- Universal Access: All of the cabins, one yurt, one full-hookup site, four standard electric sites, and one tent site are accessible to campers with disabilities.
Kid Activities
Whether you explore the park’s rich history on your own, or join a ranger-led tour, you won’t want to miss these sites.
Champoeg Visitor Center: Exhibits tell the story of the people who have shaped this landscape, from the Kalapuya Indians to fur trappers to the settlers who built the town. Tour on your own or take a guided walk to learn what happened to the bustling town of Champoeg, and who were the early settlers.
Manson Barn and Farmstead: Behind the Visitor Center lies in 1860s-style garden and barn. Both depict what life would have been like for homesteaders Donald and Felicite Manson.
Pioneer Memorial Building: This pavilion and plaza on the banks of the Willamette marks the site of the famous 1843 vote that formed the first government in the Northwest. A monument carved with the names of the men who voted marks the formation of the original Champoeg Park.
Beyond Champoeg
Newell Pioneer Village: Just outside the park, this museum includes the restored log cabin of prominent settler Robert Newell. Operated by Daughters of the American Revolution, the museum includes a mid-19th century school and jail. Information: newellpioneervillage.com or 503-678-5537.
Town of Butteville: Take the park trail east along the Willamette River 4 miles to Butteville, another early town that survived the 1861 flood. Visit the Historic Butteville Store, possibly the oldest operating store in Oregon. The store is the last commercial vestige of the once thriving Willamette River community. Information: butteville.org.
Know Before You Go
- Drones and metal detectors are not allowed anywhere in the park.
- Dogs are welcome at Champoeg but must be on a leash no longer than 6 feet at all times, except while in the off-leash dog park.
- Electric bikes are allowed on the 4-mile bike trail from Riverside Day-use to the town of Butteville. The following devices are not allowed: electric scooters, mountain boards, electric unicycles, and other similar devices.
- Boaters: check ahead for obstructions on the Oregon State Marine Board’s Reported Obstructions and Alerts page.
- A life jacket loaner station is at the boat ramp, with life jackets of various sizes available. Be aware of swift currents and hidden obstructions beneath the surface. Wearing a life jacket, and making sure it fits properly, saves lives.
Other Knowledge to learn about Champoeg
Prior to 1840
The Champoeg prairie was home to Kalapuya Indians, who had used the area for hunting, fishing, and gathering camas bulbs for thousands of years. Fur trappers first visited Champooick, as the area was known, in 1811. The Willamette Post was established in 1813 to serve the trappers.
The Seeds of Government
In 1841, area settlers began holding “wolf meetings” to discuss problems with predators. Eventually, the meetings turned to larger issues, and on May 2, 1843, the settlers voted 52 to 50 to establish a new provisional government for the area.
Transportation Hub
Although the provisional government moved to Oregon City in 1844, Champoeg’s location on the river made it a regular stop for stagecoaches and steam boats. By the end of the 1850s, the town had grown to 60 buildings and a population of 200. In 1861, a flood washed away most of the wooden buildings, and the townsite was abandoned. Champoeg remained an important transportation link until another disastrous flood led to its total abandonment in 1892.
Humble Beginnings
Champoeg Park began as a single square “rod” of land— a fraction of an acre just large enough for a granite monument carved with the names of the men who voted. For many years, the park was only used one day a year, on May 2, when locals would travel by steamboat to celebrate that momentous vote.
Champoeg Today
The park expanded to 107 acres by 1929, when the automobile spurred an interest in recreation. By 2019, the park had expanded to 678 acres with 550,000 day visits and 89,000 overnight visits annually. The park continues to celebrate the 1843 vote during the annual Founders’ Day .